My Daddy is Awesome

My Dad is Awesome

Being Father’s Day, I thought it only right I do a blog dedicated to my best friend – my father (Daddy Bob)Anyone who knows me, has met my Dad or has heard one of his stories will know how much of living legend he is. Having a good father/daughter relationship is one of the main reasons I have become who I am today – he taught me many things and I’m going to share a few of the best things.

My father retired young – when I was primary school age and he looked after me. He walked me to school each day, helped with homework etc. Back then I didn’t appreciate it, but the love and respect my father showed me taught me to love and respect myself – even throughout being bullied in primary school.

mendaddy

He shared many a story with me about his adventures. From his stories I learned a lot about enjoying life, treating people, being young and the world. Becoming a teenager one of the main things I would call my Dad was “Over-protective” which he, to this day, believes there is no such thing. I wanted to run amok with my friends and he always wanted to ensure I was safe. I usually got pissed off with the fact he took such an interest in exactly what I was up to, so we decided that he would “Trust my actions” and most things I requested to do (within reason) were then allowed. I think this was a key part in my upbringing… I respected and loved my father as he did with me. He trusted me and I wanted him to continue to do so. I wasn’t a perfect teenager and was sometimes bold, but there was always the voice in the back of my mind “What would Daddy think?” If it would make him feel let down I would mostly walk away.

My Dad and I still have an awesome relationship today and like any good/healthy relationship we often give off and piss off each other but the honesty, love and respect still remains.

Most little girls will say there’s noone like their Daddy but my heart says there couldn’t be anyone as awesome as mine.

Love you Daddy Bob X

Leave a comment