Can’t run, won’t run!

2

Like many, I just never got into exercise. I didn’t have much interest in competitive sports in school – I walked everywhere and that was the height of my fitness.

The last couple of months I’ve been taking part in things in work, at home and with my friends – conversations and activities that have made me think more about fear and what scares me. Running is one of these things.

photo3.png

I can run but not for long. The negative thoughts take over, “I hate this”, “I’m out of breath”, “My feet are sore”, “I’ve got cramp” are some of the very few thoughts many of us deal with (I’m sure you can think of a few of  ‘your minds’ favourites!)

As running is a fear – I fear of not being able to achieve running, I therefore believe it’s something I should be able to tolerate, if not learn to enjoy. Most people fear spiders, heights and the unknown, but I’ve learned that I’m afraid of my inabilites.

As part of this mission I thought I’d throw myself in at the deep end. I signed up for the Lisburn 10k and with next to no training – took part. It was tough! The first mile I did quite easily – at that sort of event alone carries you. Then by mile two I wanted to run a lot slower and even stop. I got every usual mindset excuse in the book, “this hurts”, “can’t breathe”, “muscle pain/cramps” along with the blisters, sweat, and dehydration but I still powered through.

The emotion of pride and exhaustion meant I burst into tears as I crossed the finish line. 

I can honestly say I’ve never had a sense of achievement like it, in my adult life anyway.

Kathryn B Wilson Northern Ireland DJ

“Success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you travelled from where you started.”

My plan is to now take steps. Unfortunately, I have only ran once since my 10k which was two weeks ago, though I hope to run for an hour once a week – MINIMUM.

I’m going to purchase new running shoes, clothing – right down to socks, so I feel more positive and comfortable (& have less excuses!). If you can recommend any of these things please send them to me!

I’m also going to be working on a running mix – as a DJ this is something I’m particularly excited about and will definitely want your input.

If you are a runner – especially someone who has struggled on their “Road to Running” and have thoughts or advice please send them my way! Any help is REALLY appreciated!

2 thoughts on “Can’t run, won’t run!

  1. Well done – it is a great thing to break through that barrier and start to enjoy it. With regards to equipment – go to a proper running shop for shoes – there is one in belfast but i dont remember the name. the shoes must be fitted properly and it is worth the extra money for this. Clothes wise, get yourself to decathlon. Have fun!!!!!

  2. Well done Kathryn!
    Defo get to Up and Running and they can measure your gait and make sure you have the right running shoes!
    Keep ‘er lit!

Leave a comment