Fears

What is fear? Why do we fear? Do we all fear the same things?

Fear

“Too many of us are not living our dreams because we are living our fears.” – Les Brown

As part of my thinking’s about running and how I’m afraid of failing I’ve been trying to do other things that help me feel that fear and go beyond the hesitation.

Coasteering is one of main activities I’ve been doing that scares me and I still enjoy doing it – once I get beyond the “fear”!

What are your fears?

Main fears us humans have;
Flying, heights, clowns, intimacy, death, rejection, people, snakes, failure, and driving.

No surprises there!

I don’t personally ‘fear’ any of those things – most of them I don’t like, but I wouldn’t describe it as a fear.

Have another think. What do you fear?

Last week I wanted to explore fear more, so I took a trip to Jungle NI to try their “Tree Top Challenge” an activity which a few of my closest friends described as “difficult” and took a lot of “courage”

Tree Top Challenge


So I definitely have a few “fear” pointers after the tree top challenge.

Getting ready

Nervously getting my safety harness on for the ‘Tree Top Challenge’ at Jungle NI – Thanks Stephen

From my friends and peers telling me that the activity in Jungle NI had been difficult (especially from some of my ‘fearless friends’) I was nervous from the get go.

This caused me to lack self-confidence and I become nervous and anxious.

FEELING THE FEAR!

Courage is sometimes created by others actions and support. Not for me on this occasion! My confidence was low and I found myself listening to myself more than others! I still attempted every obstacle but endurance is needed to complete some of the activities.
I then began to negotiate my way across treacherous tyres, perilous tightropes, wobbly logs and balancing beams between platforms high in the tree tops. When the activity is difficult physically – it sometimes takes the human mind away from the fear. I was feeling this way until I got my foot stuck in the tyres and could not free myself – cue PANIC! Sweat, shaking, shortness of breath, tiredness and heart palpitations!

Holding on with my arms above my head and feet on two separate tyres, I tried to slow my breathing and calm down which probably took a few minutes – my arms were ready to give up. I had to step back on the tyre before I could free myself and finally made it across. Definitely needed a few minutes to calm and cool down afterwards!

A few tightropes and swings later I was ready to do the next challenge that I was pre warned was “scariest” The zip wire! I’ve done a zip line before and did not hesitate. But this time it was different. As I was stuck and fearing for my life (in my own belief system) only a few minutes before my confidence had been knocked and was feeling like I could not do it. I hesitated and began to over-think the situation. People around me grew impatient and began to attempt to encourage me with comments of “You’ve done it before”, “Wise up you’ve skydived and bungee jumped” which were also my own thoughts; but I didn’t have the confidence to “Let Go”.

A guy – a total stranger who was taking part in the activity then said to me
“You know it’s not because you’re afraid it’s because you don’t have the confidence to let go”

As soon as he said this it definitely triggered something in my mind. “All I have to do is let go”I thought to myself. “Go on Kathryn – YOLO” was a support message from Stephen via the walkie talkie from the other side of the zip wire. I then closed my eyes and went for it!

Zipline

Whizzing past on the Zip Wire- Jungle NI

I LOVED IT!

As I write these words I feel my fears were silly and meaningless now – but I learnt something. There are many things in our life that we trust are safe to do but we just can’t GO for them or let GO of the fear and do them.

A few tightropes and balancing beams later it was time for the Power Fan Drop – basically standing on the edge of high ledge and falling. Advertised as “The spine-tingling Power Fan Drop which lets you experience the rush of a free fall Parachute jump – without the parachute” Fear? Yes!

The first thing I noticed about the area around the Power Fan drop was the location. As this is known as the most feared of the activities they also had a bridge in the opposite direction. The staff members didn’t say this but I’m sure many a participant (including myself) called this the ‘failure route’ or ‘walk of shame’; needless to say, I was tempted to take that route.

The knowledge that this was the end of the course didn’t help but I can honestly say it was the professionalism of the instructors who made me feel enthused and confident my abilities and the safety of equipment and activities.

Never was the thought of ‘Letting go’ more relatable. More hesitation but once I had seen a few others doing it I pushed through and let go…..I definitely let a big scream out of me!

The sense of achievement and calm that came is very rewarding. Difficult to explain but I would have hated if I had allowed myself to chicken out.

Although I didn’t enjoy feeling scared I do want to do more of these types of activities – challenges and going out of our comfort zones are the only way we grow!

fear

Finally, a word of thanks to JungleNI and your awesome staff – I am looking forward to my next visit!

When was the last time you did something that scared you?

2 thoughts on “Fears

  1. Pingback: When was the last time you did something that scared you? Coolfm DJ @kathrynbwilson reviews (@TheJungleNI) | #LoveBelfast

Leave a comment